Graduate Research Papers


Open Access Graduate Research Paper


It is time now to think, time to become conscious and to delve into a sample of Newbery winners. Four Newbery books were chosen for this study in an effort to compare the earlier winners, when sexism was not such a popular issue, with two current winners to discern whether a change had taken place, if indeed a change was necessary. The two older books are Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs, the 1934 winner, and Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright, the 1939 winner. The 1930's was chosen because it was a decade in which every Newbery book was written by a woman, causing criticism about the Newbery for being too "feminized." No such pattern of a predominant sex has since arisen. The two current books are Betsy Byars' 1971 winner, Summer of the Swans, and the 1973 book, Julie of the Wolves, by Jean Craighead George.

Year of Submission


Degree Name

Master of Arts


Department of Library Science

First Advisor

Leah Hiland


If you are the rightful copyright holder of this graduate research paper and wish to have it removed from the Open Access Collection, please submit an email request to Include your name and clearly identify the thesis by full title and author as shown on the work.

Date Original


Object Description

1 PDF file (ii, 30 pages)