Dissertations and Theses @ UNI


Open Access Thesis


Piano music;


Yuxiao Sun presented a solo piano recital on November 2, 2023 at 8:00 p.m. in Davis Hall of the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center at the University of Northern Iowa. This recital marked a partial completion of her Master of Music degree in Piano Performance. The program included the following works: Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 “Appassionata” by Ludwig van Beethoven, Partita No.1 in B flat Major, BWV 825 by Johann Sebastian Bach, and Pour le Piano, L. 95 by Claude Debussy.

Piano Sonata No. 23 in F minor, Op. 57 “Appassionata” by Ludwig van Beethoven

Ludwig van Beethoven was born in Bonn, Germany, in 1770 and died in Vienna, Austria, in 1827. He is regarded as a leading musical figure of the 19th century.

The piano sonata "Appassionata," composed between 1804 and 1806, is one of the significant keyboard works of Beethoven's middle period (roughly 1802-1812).2 At this time, his style became bolder and more innovative, markedly different from the classical traditions, especially those of Haydn and Mozart. He unfortunately began to lose his hearing during this phase and his compositional approach and musical philosophy were profoundly affected. He began to gravitate towards more introspective and philosophical themes such as fate, heroism, and personal struggle. This sonata continually conveys a spirit of restrained heroism, which perhaps can be interpreted as Beethoven's personal struggles between resisting the arrangement of fate and accepting the harsh reality.

Year of Submission


Degree Name

Master of Music


School of Music

First Advisor

Sean Botkin

Date Original


Object Description

1 PDF file (ii, 14 pages)