Dissertations and Theses @ UNI


Open Access Thesis


Conducting; String quartets, Arranged; Overtures; Symphonies;


This abstract describes the graduate recital of John Chiles which was performed in partial fulfillment of the requirements for the Master of Music degree in conducting. The recital was presented in two separate concerts: the first on October 22, 2015 at 7:30 pm, and the second on November 11, 2015 at 7:30 pm. Both concerts employed the Northern Iowa Symphony Orchestra, and the November concert also included the Northern Iowa Youth Orchestra. The concerts were performed in the Gallagher-Bluedorn Performing Arts Center on the University of Northern Iowa campus. The primary goal of the recital was to demonstrate knowledge of various musical periods and use that knowledge to guide the orchestra to a musical interpretation and precise execution of the music.

There were three works presented on these recitals; String Quartet No. 8 op.110, movements 1 and 2, by Dmitri Shostakovich and arranged by Lucas Drew, Overture to Nabucco by Giuseppe Verdi, and Symphony No. 40 in G minor, K.550 by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. These works exemplify style traits from three different musical periods, and each work represents a different genre.

Year of Submission


Degree Name

Master of Music


School of Music

First Advisor

Rebecca Burkhardt, Chair

Date Original


Object Description

1 PDF file



File Format