# Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 10 | Number 3

Article 16

1973

# Iowa Science Teachers' Journal publication information; Iowa Science Teachers Section Officers and Regional Directors

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1973 by the Iowa Academy of Science

### **Recommended Citation**

(1973) "Iowa Science Teachers' Journal publication information; Iowa Science Teachers Section Officers and Regional Directors," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 10: No. 3, Article 16. Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol10/iss3/16

This Back Matter is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

"The purpose of the symposium was to promote interest in science by high school students and provide a forum where an exchange of ideas between students and scientists exists." said Asst. Prof. William Sharp, Director of the Symposium.

Twelve students had been selected to present their research efforts during the symposium. The student researchers were competing for participation in the National Symposium to be held at West Point Academy, New York during May 9-12. Of the six selected to participate in the National Symposium, the "top" paper would present his/her research and compete for participation in the World Symposium in London, England. The twelve students selected to present their research were:

"The Short-1. Kevin Baker, Spirit Lake. Term Effect of RNA on Memory and Retention." 2. Bruce A. Luxon, Waterloo. "A Determination of the Pollution of Soil and Water from the Use of Animal Fertilizer."

"Schlieren Craig Schaefer, Bettendorf. Photography-A Method to Make Visible the Invisible."

Joe Depenbusch, Emmetsburg.

Absorption by Plant Leaves.

Paul Sugg, Knoxville. "Replication of Hemangioendothelioma Cells in Culture."

"The Effect of 6. Tim Menke, Mason City. Contaminated Ground Water on Shallow Wells of Cerro Gordo County.

7. Gordon Waite, Maquoketa. "Experiments

in Solar Spectroscopy."

8. Albert J. Allen, Davenport. of Vitamin E on Fruitfly Reproduction and Life Span."

"A Pattern 9. Matthew Maurer, Bellevue. to the Primes 1-1000."

"A Study of 10. Tim Dunkerton, Waterloo.

Monomolecular Layers and Light."

11. Anne Marie Herman, Sigourney. "Electron Microscopic Study of Myelinated Nerve Degeneration in Primary Cat Incisors." 12. James Shell, Council Bluffs.

Effects of Caffeine on the Oxidation of

Yeast Cells."

Keynote speakers included Dr. Willard Jacobson, Columbia University; Dr. James Taranik, University of Iowa; and Dr. Timothy O'Connell, NASA. In addition to the speakers, other activities included a presentation by Peter Lewis, Director Electronic Studios at the University of Iowa; informal rap sessions; and laboratory visits.

Here at the University of Iowa, preparations are already underway for the Twelfth Annual Symposium in 1974.

## THE IOWA SCIENCE TEACHERS' JOURNAL

The IST Journal is published each October, December, February and April by the Iowa Academy of Science for its members and special subscribers. Its central theme is science teaching at all academic levels.

For subscription, circulation data, additional copies, and changes of address, contact Dr. Robert Hanson, Iowa Academy of Science, University of Northern Iowa, Cedar Falls, Iowa, 50613.

Publication: Open to all persons interested in science education; preferential consideration for Academy members. For information as to policy as well as submission of news items or general articles, contact: Robert E. Yager, Science Education Center, the University of Iowa, Iowa City, Iowa 52242. All manuscripts should be typewritten, double-spaced on one side side of the paper and submitted in duplicate. They must reach the editor one month prior to publication date if they are to be considered for a given issue.

#### ISTS OFFICERS

President - Don Murphy, West Des Moines Past President - Milbert Krohn, Spirit Lake Vice-President - Jack Daniels, Emmetsburg Secretary - Ray Mitchem, Marshalltown Treasurer - John Bosveld, Dubuque Editor - Robert Yager, Iowa City Managing Editor - Charles Frederick, Iowa City Executive Secretary - Robert Hanson, Cedar Falls

#### REGIONAL DIRECTORS

Northwest - Carl Gochnauer, Lake Park North Central - Bob Wilson, Belmond Northeast -West Central -East Central - Joe Beach, Cedar Rapids Southwest -South Central - Dennis Dubois, Knoxville Southeast - Gary Tilleros, Bettendorf Central - Robert Sandquist - Newton