Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 13 | Number 2

Article 16

1976

Congratulations!

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1976 by the Iowa Academy of Science

Recommended Citation

(1976) "Congratulations!," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 13: No. 2, Article 16. Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol13/iss2/16

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

Outstanding Service Award



The Iowa Science Teachers Section is proud to announce that Don Murphy, science teacher at Hoover High School of Des Moines, has been selected as the recipient of its Outstanding Service Award for 1975.

Don has an excellent record of service in science education programs throughout the State of Iowa. He has served in several capacities in the Iowa Science Teachers Section, including the Vice-Presidency during 1971-72 and the Presidency during 1972-73. Through his contagious enthusiasm and hard work, he has made science a challenging and rewarding experience for students in the elementary and secondary schools of Iowa. Don has also been an inspiration to many science educators, including myself, and has provided the motivation for many of us to put forth that extra effort.

Our heartfelt thanks to Don for his many years of service and we all look forward to his continued guidance, assistance and leadership.

Elwoodl. Harlock Past-President

Iowa Science Teachers Section

Congratulations!

The Editorial Board of the *Iowa Science Teachers Journal* wishes to congratulate the six Iowa science educators recognized by the Iowa Academy of Science for their excellence in science teaching. The recipients of the awards for 1976 were:

Sandra Waltz (Norwalk) for Excellence in Elementary Science Teaching.

Elwood Garlock (Cedar Rapids) for Excellence in Junior High Science Teaching.

Stanley Whelchel (Waterloo) for Excellence in Biology Teaching.

George Davis (Reinbeck) for Excellence in Chemistry Teaching.

Gary Jensen (Roland) for Excellence in Earth Science Teaching.

Glendon Peterson (Le Mars) for Excellence in Physics Teaching.