Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 13 | Number 3

Article 8

1976

The Foreign Exchange

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1976 by the Iowa Academy of Science

Recommended Citation

(1976) "The Foreign Exchange," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 13: No. 3, Article 8. Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol13/iss3/8

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

Table 4 Excellence in Science Teaching Award Mathematics

1967	Ethel Cain	Des Moines
1968	Richard L. Morris	Spirit Lake
1969	?	?
1970	Leroy Huegli	Osage
1971	Joseph Zimmerman	Des Moines
1972	Joseph Becker	Dike
1973	Irwin Van Haaften	Garwin
1974	Edward Rolenc, Jr.	Mt. Pleasant
1975	John Doran	Mt. Pleasant

Table 5 Excellence in Science Teaching Award Physics

1965	Vern Gunderson	Mason City
1966	Oliver Eason	Cedar Falls
1967	William Kacena	Des Moines
1968	Herman Kirkpatrick	Des Moines
1969	Jerry Aldrich	Alden
1970	Wesley Warner	Algona
1971	Alan Ewers	Des Moines
1972	Henry Veldhuis	Sheldon
1973	Kennon Schaffer	Mason City
1974	Henry Biere	Anamosa
	Milbert Krohn	Spirit Lake
1975	Walter Gohman	Cedar Falls

Analysis of the science teachers' award program of the Iowa Academy of Science shows that outstanding science educators have been identified in all regions of the state. In this Bicentennial Year, it is most appropriate to recognize the past contributions of these educators for their leadership in promoting science in the public and parochial schools of Iowa.

Editorial Note: 1976 marked the continued expansion and growth of the Outstanding Science Teacher's Award Program by including the identification and selection of the outstanding elementary and junior high science educators within the state. These two new categories are sponsored solely by the Iowa Academy of Science.

The Foreign Exchange

The National Science Teachers Association is attempting to locate persons in the United States who are interested in corresponding with science teachers in other countries and/or hosting a foreign student or visiting educator. If you are interested, please write Hans Andersen, NSTA Secretary for International Communications, Education 337, Indiana University, Bloomington, Indiana 47401.