Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 15 | Number 2

Article 26

1978

Honors to Iowans: AAS Convention Participants; Outstanding Science Teacher Awards; IDPI Awards

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1978 by the Iowa Academy of Science

Recommended Citation

(1978) "Honors to Iowans: AAS Convention Participants; Outstanding Science Teacher Awards; IDPI Awards," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 15: No. 2, Article 26.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol15/iss2/26

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

Honors to Iowans

IAS Awards

Frank Starr and Hjalmer Peterson were recognized for contributions in science education by the Iowa Academy of Science at the 1978 annual spring meeting of the Iowa Academy of Science.

AAAS Convention Participants

Linda Berens, Wahlert High School of Dubuque and Pactrict Halbur, Kuemper High School of Carroll were selected for presentations at the AAAS Convention in Houston, Texas in January 1979 as part of the American Junior Academy of Science program. Alan Rakoff, Fairfield High School of Fairfield and Diane Walther, Central High School of Waterloo were selected as alternates.

Outstanding Science Teacher Awards

During the 1978 annual spring meeting of the Iowa Academy of Science six teachers were honored for excellence in teaching. Those honored were:

James H. Meyer, Biology Teacher, Cedar Falls High School, Cedar Falls Gale Courtney, Tri-County Community High School, Thornburg William J. Cox, Physics Teacher, Dowling High School, Des Moines Richard A. Golz, Earth Science Teacher, East High School, Waterloo Dennis Frisch, Junior High Science Teacher, Wilton Elementary School, Wilton

Darleen Ayres, Elementary Science Teacher, Horace Mann Elementary School, Ottumwa.

IDPI Awards

Michael Clark of Des Moines, Nancy Niebuhr of Aurelia, Darla Taylor of Diagonal and Mathew Garret of Glenwood were selected by the Iowa Department of Public Instruction as participants in the National Youth Science Camp in West Virginia.

New NSTA Publications

Safety in the Elementary Science Classroom (\$2.00).
Safety in the Secondary Science Classroom (\$4.00).
Science Career Exploration for Women (\$2.50).
What Research Says to the Science Teacher, Vol. 1 (\$3.50).
How to Care for Living Things in the Classroom (\$1.00).
Guidelines for Self-Assessment of Secondary School Science Programs (\$5.00).

The above titles can be obtained by writing the National Science Teachers Association, 1742 Connecticut Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC 20009.