Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 21 | Number 2

Article 12

1984

Science Notes - Awards Presented at ISTS Fall Conference

Carl W. Bollwinkel

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1984 by the Iowa Academy of Science

Recommended Citation

Bollwinkel, Carl W. (1984) "Science Notes - Awards Presented at ISTS Fall Conference," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 21: No. 2, Article 12.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol21/iss2/12

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

SCIENCE NOTES

Workshop Presented in Conjunction with ISTS Conference

Cooperation between four Iowa universities fostered a unique elementary science workshop held in conjunction with the Iowa Science Teachers Section of the Iowa Academy of Science fall conference.

The workshop for K-6 teachers offered a potpourri of hands-on experiences which could be used with various science texts and programs. Sessions were held at the Starlite Village Motel in Ames on Wednesday evening, prior to the ISTS conference, and again on Friday, the day following the conference.

In order to obtain one hour of graduate credit, workshop participants also attended four sessions devoted to elementary science teaching at the Thursday conference and submitted written reports. Participating teachers were able to register for credit from one of the universities in Iowa which offer graduate programs in science education — the University of Northern Iowa, Iowa State University, the University of Iowa or Drake University.

Coordination of the offering was done by Carl Bollwinkel of the UNI Price Laboratory School faculty with the assistance of Jim Bodensteiner of UNI Continuing Education. Instructors for the workshop course were Paul Joslin of Drake University, Jim Shymansky of the University of Iowa, Gary Downs of Iowa

State University, and Carl Bollwinkel of UNI.

A similar cooperative workshop is being planned for the 1985 conference. Further information about such future workshops will be published in this journal.

Awards Presented at ISTS Fall Conference

Awards were presented to several of Iowa's outstanding science educators at

the meeting of ISTS in Ames on November 1.

Special recognition was given to Dr. Clifford McCollum, retiring Dean of the College of Natural Sciences of the University of Northern Iowa, for his many years of outstanding service to science and science educators of Iowa.

The Iowa Science Teachers Outstanding Service Award for 1984 was presented to Dean Hartman. Dean has served for the past 13 years as science

consultant at Grant Wood Area Education Agency in Cedar Rapids.

Ken Hartman was presented the Iowa Presidential Science Teachers Award for 1984. Ken teaches chemistry and computer science at Ames High School where he is science department chairman. The alternate for the award is Peggy

Steffen of Ottumwa High School.

A certificate recognizing 1983-84 Excellence in Science Education for programs in chemistry was awarded to Marshalltown Senior High School by the National Science Teachers Association. Marshalltown was the only school in the State of Iowa, and one of only 29 chemistry departments nationwide to receive the recognition. Eight programs will be selected from these national finalists for recognition at the NSTA Cincinnati Convention in April 1985. The Marshalltown program offers four chemistry courses: Interdisciplinary Approaches to Chemistry, Honors Chemistry, Advanced Inorganic and Advanced Organic Chemistry. John Blake and Gerald Huss are the chemistry teachers. — *C.W.B.*