## Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 24 | Number 2

Article 12

1987

# Science Notes - Iowa Science Teachers Section Honors Excellence in Science

Stephanie A. Althof

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj

Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1987 by the Iowa Academy of Science

### **Recommended Citation**

Althof, Stephanie A. (1987) "Science Notes - Iowa Science Teachers Section Honors Excellence in Science," *Iowa Science Teachers Journal*: Vol. 24: No. 2, Article 12. Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol24/iss2/12

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

### SCIENCE NOTES

### Walton Honored with Presidential Award

Sandra J. Walton was selected as the Iowa recipient of the 1987 Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching. Walton, who currently teaches in Dubuque, was one of 54 teachers from around the United States selected to be recognized as excellent in the field.

Each year, recipients (together with the recipients of the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics Teaching) are invited to Washington, D.C., to receive their awards. There they are able to attend official Washington functions held in their honor and share their teaching expertise with other educators.

In addition to the recognition that accompanies the award, recipients are presented with a Presidential citation, a \$5000 grant from the National Science Foundation to supplement existing science programs, a four-day, expense-paid trip to Washington, D.C., and numerous other gifts.

The Presidential Awards for Excellence are based on classroom performance, student progress and other professional activities of the teacher. -S.A.A.

### Peggy Steffen Receives Iowa Science Teachers Award

Secondary teacher Peggy Steffen was recently presented with the Iowa Science Teachers Outstanding Service Award for 1987.

A graduate of Iowa State and Drake Universities, Steffen received the Iowa Academy of Science Excellence in Biology Award in 1981 and was a state nominee for the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science Teaching in 1984 and 1985.

Besides being a presenter at ISTS Fall Conferences, local and area workshops, a regional NSTA convention and

the 1984 International Energy Conference, Steffen has written for the PRISMS project and the Iowa Developed Energy Activities Sampler (IDEAS).

Steffen currently teaches at Ottumwa High School and recently finished five years as secretary on the Iowa Science Teachers Section Executive Board.

#### Iowa Science Teachers Section Honors Excellence in Science

Seven Iowa science teachers and two schools were recently honored for their achievements in science at the Iowa Science Teachers Section Fall Conference.

Receiving the Excellence in Science Teaching Awards for 1987 were Lynn Altemeier of Des Moines (Junior High School), Candace Kilburg of Center Point (Elementary Science), Mary Frances Feddersen of Sioux City (Chemistry), Peter Harold Sweedy of Bettendorf (Physics), Gary L. Garton of Iowa City (Biology) and H. John Verdon of Waverly (Earth Science).

Council Bluffs Community Schools was chosen as a State Exemplary School in the area of Science Supervision (William Lepley, Superintendent; Warren Weber, Director of Curriculum). Chosen in the area of Excellence in Biology Curriculum was City High School of Iowa City Community Schools (David Cronin, Superintendent; Gary L. Garton, Head, Department of Biology). — S.A.A.



- S.A.A.