## Iowa Science Teachers Journal

Volume 29 | Number 2

Article 6

1992

# Science Notes - Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching **Awards**

Amy L. Wall

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj



Part of the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright © Copyright 1992 by the Iowa Academy of Science

#### **Recommended Citation**

Wall, Amy L. (1992) "Science Notes - Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching Awards," Iowa Science Teachers Journal: Vol. 29: No. 2, Article 6.

Available at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/istj/vol29/iss2/6

This Article is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Journals & Newsletters at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Science Teachers Journal by an authorized editor of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

### SCIENCE NOTES

#### **Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching Awards**

The 1992 Iowa finalists for Presidential Awards for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching have been announced. These individuals were nominated by colleagues on the basis of their teaching performance, experience, education and related professional activities.

During June, July and August, the Iowa awardees and their counterparts in the other states were recognized in ceremonies held at statehouses and Departments of Education throughout the United States. In September, 216 elementary and secondary science and mathematics teachers nationwide were named 1992 Presidential Awardees.

The Presidential Awardees for Excellence in Science and Mathematics Teaching in Iowa are Eleanor Marie Thomas, Northwood Elementary School (Ames); C. David Christensen, Malcolm Price Laboratory School (Cedar Falls); Jill Moser, Roosevelt High School (Des Moines) and Daniel F. McGrail, Carlisle Community High School. Each awardee will receive a trip for two to Washington, D.C., a Presidential citation and a \$7,500 National Science Foundation grant. The secondary teachers will receive their awards in Washington, D.C., on March 11, 1993. The elementary teachers will receive their awards in Washington, D.C., on April 29, 1993, as part of the celebration of National Science and Technology Week.

The other Iowa Finalists in Math were Nancy C. French, Walcott Elementary School; Debra M. Jacobs, Dallas Center-Grimes Elementary School; B. Carolyn Anderson, West Branch Middle School and

Joann M. Stuhr, Bettendorf High School.

The other Iowa Finalists in Science were Verlin Fleagle, Central Clinton Community High School (DeWitt); Lowell A. Wiele, Garfield Junior High School (Chariton); Margaret P. Sadeghpour, Lincoln Community Elementary School (Mechanicsville) and Robert G. Wilson, North Winneshiek Community School (Decorah).

-A.L.W.

#### **Catalyst Awards**

The Chemical Manufacturers Association will honor 24 outstanding teachers of science, chemistry and chemical engineering through its Catalyst Awards program in 1993.

Awards will be given in five categories: College Chemistry, Two-Year College Chemistry, High School Chemistry (9-12), Middle School

Life Science (7-9) and Elementary School Life Science (K-6).

For further information or nomination papers, send your name, affiliation, and complete address to Catalyst Awards Director, Chemical Manufacturers Association, 2501 M Street NW, Washington, DC 20037.

-A.L.W.