University of Northern Iowa

UNI ScholarWorks

Iowa Academy of Science Documents

IAS Miscellaneous

4-22-1983

95th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 22, 1983

Iowa Academy of Science

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright ©1983, Iowa Academy of Science

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias_docs

Part of the Life Sciences Commons, Physical Sciences and Mathematics Commons, and the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Recommended Citation

lowa Academy of Science, "95th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 22, 1983" (1983). *Iowa Academy of Science Documents*. 117.

https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias_docs/117

This Awards Program is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Miscellaneous at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Academy of Science Documents by an authorized administrator of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

95th Session Iowa Academy of Science

AWARDS LUNCHEON

Dining Room, Centennial Union April 22, 1983

PROGRAM

Served Luncheon

Introduction of Head Table

Harry T. Horner President, Iowa Academy of Science

Recognition of Students Participating Gary Downs, Chairman in Various State-wide Science Student Programs Committee Activities (See listing inside this leaflet.)

Presentation of Students Selected Mary Sievert, Director to Present Papers at the 1983 Iowa Junior Academy of Science Iowa Academy Meeting and Announcement of those Selected to Represent Iowa at the American Junior Academy of Science Meeting, New York, May 1984

Presentation of the Excellence in Science Teaching Award in Biology, Chemistry, Earth Science, Elementary Science, Junior High Science, and Physics

David McCalley University of Northern Iowa

The Iowa Academy of Science commends all those individuals, institutions, and agencies that have sponsored activities in science for high school students. The importance of identifying and encouraging students with science interest and talent cannot be over-emphasized at a time when the future calls for more and more scientists and engineers to solve the problems of a technological society.

It is likely that our list is incomplete. The following activities have to some degree been identified with the Iowa Junior Academy of Science specifically or more generally with the Iowa Academy of Science. Those activities not so identified are equally important and their possible omission here is not to be construed otherwise.

Drake Physics Prize

Stphen Hsu - Ames High School
David Bishop - Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids
Jay Happel - Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids
Andrew Abian - Ames High School
Rodney Schuler - Camanche High School
Roger Kirpes - Wahlert High School, Dubuque
Steven E. Spear - Waterloo East High School
Martin Cade - Dubuque High School
Robert Dittmar - Lincoln High School, Des Moines
Paul K. Scott - Newton High School

Hawkeye Science Fair

John Stellwagen - Iowa City High School Steve Reed - Stuart-Menlo Community Schools, Stuart

Iowa Science, Engineering & Humanities Symposium

Joellen Rae Price - Newman High School, Mason City Mark Ormsby - Marshalltown Senior High School John Piper - Valley High School, West Des Moines Tom Beckman - Wahlert High School, Dubuque Charles Hewitt - Fredericksburg High School

Iowa State Science Talent Search

Sumanth Kaushik - West High School, Iowa City Mark Ormsby - Marshalltown Senior High School Lisa Kuhn - Charles City High School Leslie Fletcher - Wapsie Valley High School, Fairbank

National Governor's Youth Science Camp

Sondra Lea Johnson - Benton Community Schools Piper Lynn Wall - Central Lyon High School, Rock Rapids

Alt: Trisha Lynne Lemrick - Sidney High School Joellen Rae Price - Newman High School, Mason City Northeast Iowa Regional Science and Engineering Fair

Donnie Linder - Oelwein High School

Physics Olympics

Team winner - Maurice-Orange High School

Runner-up - WACO High School

3rd Place - Independence High School

4th Place - Osage High School

Quad-Cities Area Science and Engineering Fair

Royal Becker - Davenport Central High School Ken Irion - Bettendorf High School

Space Shuttle Program

Daniel Junck - North High School, Sioux City Joseph Mohrhauser - North High School, Sioux City

UNI Science Symposium

Chemistry

Biology Ann Ahlers - Pleasant Valley High School

Robert Collier - St. Ansgar Community High School Robert A. Kirkhart - Saydel High School, Des Moines

Phil Schneider - Harlan Community High School Steve Pauly - Dowling High School, West Des Moines

Earth Science Timothy Redmon - Jesup Community High School

Dennis Blum - Harlan Community High School Mathematics

Richard Ridenour - Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids

Physics David Bishop - Jefferson High School, Cedar Rapids

Joe Modrick - North Des Moines High School

Iowa Academy of Science Secondary Student "Invited Papers"

Royal Becker - Davenport Central Leslie Fletcher - Wapsie Valley High School, Fairbank Sumanth Kaushik - West High School, Iowa City Donnie Linder - Oelwein High School Mark Ormsby - Marshalltown Senior High School John Piper - Valley High School, West Des Moines Joellen Price - Newman High School, Mason City John Stellwagen - Iowa City High School Steven Reed - Stuart-Menlo Community School

THE EXCELLENCE IN SCIENCE TEACHING AWARDS

The Iowa Academy of Science has a long and distinguished record of encouraging improvement in science teaching within Iowa's public and parochial schools. Since 1954, through its Excellence in Science Teaching Awards program, teachers from all areas of the state have been recognized for their outstanding work.

Presently, the Academy recognizes excellence in elementary school, junior high school and senior high school science teaching. Further in the senior high school program, the specialty areas of biology, chemistry, earth science and physics are focused upon.

Biology
Gene Ulrich - North High School, Sioux City

Chemistry
Kenneth Hartman - Ames High School, Ames

Earth Science Lewis Stoneking - Ottumwa High School, Ottumwa

Elementary Science
Ms. Cameron Vanni - Horace Mann Elementary, Iowa City

Junior High Science Sharon Fisher - Meredith Junior High School, Des Moines

Physics Robert Wilson - Belmond Community High School, Belmond