University of Northern Iowa UNI ScholarWorks

Iowa Academy of Science Documents

IAS Miscellaneous

4-23-1993

105th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 23, 1993

Iowa Academy of Science

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright ©1993, Iowa Academy of Science

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias_docs

Part of the Life Sciences Commons, Physical Sciences and Mathematics Commons, and the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

Recommended Citation

Iowa Academy of Science, "105th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 23, 1993" (1993). *Iowa Academy of Science Documents*. 119. https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias_docs/119

This Awards Program is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Miscellaneous at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Academy of Science Documents by an authorized administrator of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

AWARDS LUNCHEON

105th Session Iowa Academy of Science Luther College April 23, 1993



PROGRAM

Served Luncheon

Introduction of Head Table

Recognition of students participating in various statewide science activities

Presentation of scholarship winners and 1994 AJAS representatives

Presentation of Excellence in Science Teaching Awards William Deskin President, Iowa Academy of Science

Larry Schwinger Chair, Student Programs Committee

> Peggy Tilgner Wartburg College, Waverly

Roy Unruh Director, ESTA Program The Iowa Academy of Science commends all those individuals, institutions, and agencies that have sponsored activities in science for high school students. The importance of identifying and encouraging students with science interest and talent cannot be over-emphasized at a time when the future calls for more and more scientists and engineers to solve the problems of a technological society.

It is likely that our list is incomplete. The following activities have to some degree been identified with the Iowa Junior Academy of Science specifically or more generally with the Iowa Academy of Science. Those activities not so identified are equally important and their possible omission here is not to be construed otherwise.

IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE SECONDARY STUDENT "INVITED PAPERS"

Seth Christensen, Nishna Valley Jr-Sr High School, Hastings Andrea Clark, Algona High School Byron Formwalt, Waverly-Shell Rock Senior High School Jamie Harding, West High School, Davenport Nathan Holmes, West High School, Davenport Lily Kim, Bettendorf High School Christine Micheel, Marshalltown High School Marie Peleck, Marshalltown High School Nicole Rascon, Davenport North High School Sarah Renze, Marshalltown High School Sara Rohdy, Central High School, Donnellson Cameron Schmitt, Stuart-Menlo High School, Elgin Karin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo High School Winston Yang, Central High School, Davenport

IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE

OUTSTANDING SCIENCE STUDENT MEDALS (Sponsored by The Rolscreen Company, Pella, Iowa)

Medals will be presented to 97 outstanding high school science students

EASTERN IOWA SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR

Christine Micheel, Marshalltown High School Sarah Renze, Marshalltown High School

GREATER QUAD CITY METROPOLITAN AREA SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR AND SYMPOSIUM (QCSEF)

Jamie Harding, West High School, Davenport Nathan Holmes, West High School, Davenport Nicole Rascon, North High School, Davenkport Winston Yang, Central High School, Davenport

HAWKEYE SCIENCE FAIR

Seth Christensen, Nishna Valley High School, Hastings Andrea Clark, Algona High School Sara Rohdy, Central Lee High School, Donnellson Karin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo High school

IOWA SCIENCE TALENT SEARCH

Byron Formwalt, Waverly-Shell Rock High School

NORTHEAST IOWA SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR

John Spies, Valley Community High School, Elgin

SOUTH CENTRAL SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR

Andrea Clark, Algona High School Cameron Schmitt, Stuart-Menlo High School Karin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo High School

IOWA JUNIOR SCIENCE AND HUMANITIES SYMPOSIUM

Andrea Clark, Algona High School Lily Kim, Bettendorf High School Marie Peleck, Marshalltown Senior High School Nicole Rascon, Davenport North High School Karin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo High School

SECONDARY STUDENT TRAINING PROGRAM, UNIVERSITY OF IOWA (SSTP)

Christine Lyon, Hempstead High School, Dubuque Thomas Stricker, Pleasant Valley High School

UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA SCIENCE SYMPOSIUM

(4 year scholarships)

Biology:	Jennife	er L. Rock, North Scott H. S., Eldridge
	Jason J	. Sloan, Algona H. S., Algona
Chemistry:	Cari Houghton, City H. S., Iowa City	
	Marty	Weber, Pekin H. S., Packwood
Computer Science:		Kirk Severtson, Clear Lake H. S., Clear Lake
		Eric Brandt, Jefferson H. S., Cedar Rapids
Earth Science:		Suzy McGrane, Maquoketa Valley H. S., Delhi
		Jennifer L. Payton, Hudson H. S., Hudson
Industrial Technology		y: Brad Melvin, Bedford H. S., Bedford
		Troy Scholtman, Kingsley-Pierson, Kingsley
		Chad R. Simmons, Corning H. S., Corning
		Chad Kriegermeier, Jefferson H. S., Cedar Rapids
		Mike Johnson, Boone H. S., Boone

THE EXCELLENCE IN SCIENCE TEACHING AWARDS

The Iowa Academy of Science has a long and distinguished record of encouraging improvement in science teaching within Iowa's Public and parochial schools. Since 1954, through its Excellence in Science Teaching Awards program, teachers from all areas of the state have been recognized for their outstanding work.

Presently, the Academy recognizes excellence in elementary school, junior high school and senior high school science teaching. Further, in the senior high school program, the specialty areas of biology, chemistry, earth science, environmental education, and physics are focused upon. A general/multiple science category was established to include those who teach more than one science discipline in a single course, or separate courses or interdisciplinary courses.

Biology

Richard H. Kruse, Ankeny Senior High School, Ankeny

Chemistry

Jeffrey B. Hepburn, Dowling High School, West Des Moines

Earth Science

Beverly A. Iverson, Marshalltown Community High School, Marshalltown Elementary Science

Barbara A. Ehlers, Wings Park Elementary School, Oelwein

Environmental Education

No Award

General/MultipleScience

Michael F. Zeller, Woodward-Granger Community School, Woodward Junior High Science

Lyn Countryman, Malcolm Price Laboratory School, Cedar Falls Physics

Charles R. Gesiriech, Urbandale High School, Des Moines

Mathematics: Gary Kueper, Dubuque Sr. H. S., Dubuque Juli A. Manchester, Shenandoah H. S., Shenandoah

NATIONAL YOUTH SCIENCE CAMP

Taia Pals, Clinton High School Tomas Kang Rhee, Pleasant Valley High School

NATIONAL ENERGY INSTITUTES

Argonne National Laboratory Brian Schuster, Cascade High School Brookhaven National Laboratory Lily Kim, Bettendorf High School Fermi Laboratory Mike Dawson, MFL High School Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory John Dohrman, Heelan High School, Sioux City Alternate: Stephanie J. Franks, Lincoln H. S., Council Bluffs Oak Ridge National Laboratory Amy Dreyer, Farragut Community School Alternate: Brent Buckalew, Hamburg High School Sandia National Laboratory Aaron Wilt, Westwood High School, Sloan

PHYSICS OLYMPICS

First Place Team: Pomeroy-Palmer High School Second Place Team: Maurice-Orange City/Floyd Valley Third Place Team: Bondurant-Farrar High School Bridge Building: Valley High School, West Des Moines Hickory-Dickory Shot: North Fayette, West Union Mouse Trap Car: Valley High School, West Des Moines Soda Straw Arm: Pomeroy-Palmer High School Student Powered Water Heater: Pomeroy-Palmer High School

WESTINGHOUSE IOWA STATE SCIENCE TALENT SEARCH Karin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo High School (national semi-finalist)