# University of Northern Iowa UNI ScholarWorks

Iowa Academy of Science Documents

**IAS Miscellaneous** 

4-22-1994

# 106th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 22, 1994

Iowa Academy of Science

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright ©1994, Iowa Academy of Science

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias\_docs

Part of the Life Sciences Commons, Physical Sciences and Mathematics Commons, and the Science and Mathematics Education Commons

#### **Recommended Citation**

Iowa Academy of Science, "106th Session Iowa Academy of Science Awards Luncheon, April 22, 1994" (1994). *Iowa Academy of Science Documents*. 120. https://scholarworks.uni.edu/ias\_docs/120

This Awards Program is brought to you for free and open access by the IAS Miscellaneous at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Iowa Academy of Science Documents by an authorized administrator of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

106th Session Iowa Academy of Science St. Ambrose University, Davenport April 22, 1994



### **AWARDS LUNCHEON**

PROGRAM

Served Luncheon

Introduction of Head Table

Recognition of students participating in various statewide science activities

Presentation of scholarship winners and 1995 AJAS representatives

Presentation of Excellence in Science Teaching Awards Jean Prior President, Iowa Academy of Science

Larry Schwinger Chair, Student Programs Committee

> Peggy Tilgner Wartburg College, Waverly

> > Roy Unruh Director, ESTA Program

The Iowa Academy of Science commends all those individuals, institutions, and agencies that have sponsored activities in science for high school students. The importance of identifying and encouraging students with science interest and talent cannot be over-emphasized at a time when the future calls for more and more scientists and engineers to solve the problems of a technological society.

It is likely that our list is incomplete. The following activities have to some degree been identified with the Iowa Junior Academy of Science specifically or more generally with the Iowa Academy of Science. Those activities not so identified are equally important and their possible omission here is not to be construed otherwise.

#### IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE SECONDARY STUDENT "INVITED PAPERS"

Christopher Burke, Marshalltown Senior H. S., Marshalltown Jeremiah Esquig, Central H. S., Davenport Jamie Harding, West H. S., Davenport Matt Heuton, Glidden-Ralston Community H. S., Glidden Nathan Holmes, West H. S., Davenport Arindam Kar, Northern University H. S., Cedar Falls Candice Kelley, Maharishi H. S., Fairfield Paul McCreight, Central H. S., Davenport Christine Micheel, Marshalltown Senior H. S., Marshalltown Eric O'Brien, Stuart-Menlo H. S., Stuart Alicia Schiller, Central Lee H. S., Donnellson Laura Schmitt, Stuart-Menlo H. S., Stuart Justin Wilhelm, Stuart=Menlo H. S., Stuart

## IOWA ACADEMY OF SCIENCE OUTSTANDING SCIENCE STUDENT MEDALS

(Sponsored by The Rolscreen Company, Pella, Iowa)

Medals will be presented to 80 outstanding high school science students

# EASTERN IOWA SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR

Christopher Burke, Marshalltown H. S., Marshalltown Candice Kelly, Maharishi H. S., Fairfield

# **GREATER QUAD CITY METROPOLITAN AREA SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR AND SYMPOSIUM (QCSEF)**

Jeremiah Esquig, Central H. S., Davenport Jamie Harding, West H. S., Davenport Nathan Holmes, West H. S., Davenport Paul McCreight, Central H. S., Davenport

#### HAWKEYE SCIENCE FAIR

Christine Micheel, Marshalltown H. S., Marshalltown Laura Schmitt, Stuart-Menlo H. S., Stuart

#### **IOWA SCIENCE TALENT SEARCH**

Arindam Kar, Nortern University High School, Cedar Falls

#### SOUTH CENTRAL SCIENCE AND ENGINEERING FAIR

Seth Christensen, Nishna Valley H. S., Hastings (Physical Science) Matt Heuton, Glidden-Ralston H. S., Glidden (Biological Science)

#### **IOWA JUNIOR SCIENCE AND HUMANITIES SYMPOSIUM**

Matt Heuton, Glidden-Ralston H. S., Glidden Arindam Kar, Northern University H. S., Cedar Falls Homan Mostafavi, West H. S., Iowa City Alicia Schiller, Central Lee H. S., Donnellson Justin Wilhelm, Stuart-Menlo Community School, Stuart

#### UNIVERSITY OF NORTHERN IOWA SCIENCE SYMPOSIUM

(4 year scholarships)

Biology:	Farhang Raaii, Ames H. S., Ames
	Lynn Woo, Cedar Falls H. S., Cedar Falls
Chemistry:	Molly A. Paullus, Mason City H. S., Mason City
	Courtney Usher, City H. S., Iowa City
Computer Scie	
	Robert Teeselink, Cherokee H. S., Cherokee
Earth Science:	Brian M. Hynek, Prairie H. S., Cedar Rapids
	Adam Freiburger, Maquoketa Valley H. S., Delhi
Industrial Tech	nology: Dan Poppen, Gladbrook-Reinbeck H. S., Reinbeck
	Lucas Dix, East H. S., Waterloo
	Elizabeth Adams, Regis H. S., Cedar Rapids
	David Cota, Hempstead H. S., Dubuque
	Daniel Nibe, N. E. Hamilton H. S., Blairsburg
Mathematics:	Sarah M. Lacox, Van Meter H. S., Van Meter
	Eric Palmer, West Delaware H. S., Manchester
Physics:	Jeff England, Jefferson H. S., Cedar Rapids
	Matt Smith, Missouri Valley H. S., Missouri Valley

#### NATIONAL YOUTH SCIENCE CAMP

Ethan Bonebrake, Maquoketa Valley H. S., Delhi Blaine Grady, MFL - Mar-Mac H. S., Monona NATIONAL ENERGY INSTITUTES Argonne National Laboratory Kari Ellingson, Ames H. S., Ames Brookhaven National Laboratory Annagreta Birch, Ames H. S., Ames Fermi Laboratory Chris Krapfl, Cascade H. S., Cascade Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory Grant W. Robbins, Hempstead H. S., Dubuque Oak Ridge National Laboratory Jennifer M. Dolan, Wahlert H. S., Dubuque Sandia National Laboratory Kyle Wehring, Treynor H. S., Treynor

#### **PHYSICS OLYMPICS**

First Place Team: Pomeroy Palmer H. S. Second Place Team: Waco H. S. Third Place Team: Knoxville H. S. Bridge Building: Pomeroy Palmer H. S. Hickory-Dickory Shot: Pekin H. S. Mouse Trap Car: Waco H. S. Soda Straw Arm: Pomeroy Palmer H. S. Student Powered Water Heater: Pomeroy Palmer H. S.