University of Northern Iowa

UNI ScholarWorks

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards **Ceremony Programs**

Graduate Faculty

4-19-2010

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting [Program], April 19, 2010

University of Northern Iowa. Graduate College.

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright ©2010 University of Northern Iowa

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/gradfacprograms



Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

University of Northern Iowa. Graduate College., "Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting [Program], April 19, 2010" (2010). Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards Ceremony Programs. 3. https://scholarworks.uni.edu/gradfacprograms/3

This Program is brought to you for free and open access by the Graduate Faculty at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards Ceremony Programs by an authorized administrator of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting

April 19, 2010 3:00—4:00 p.m. Seerley 115

GRADUATE COLLEGE

Milestone Award Recipients

Accounting

Mary Christ

Martha Wartick

Art

Jeffery Byrd

Communication Studies

Victoria DeFrancisco

Catherine Palczewski

Paul Siddens

Jayne Witte

Earth Science

Mohammad Iqbal

Curriculum & Instruction

Linda Fitzgerald

Jill Uhlenberg

Educational Leadership, Counseling & Postsecondary Education

Jan Bartlett

Darci Davis-Gage

Robert Decker

David Else

Tim Gilson

Dewitt Jones

Linda Nebbe

Nick Pace

Victoria Robinson

Michael Waggoner







Agenda

Welcome—Maureen Clayton

Presentation of Awards

Student Awards—Dr. Gloria Gibson & Shoshanna Coon

Faculty Awards—Dr. Gloria Gibson & Jennifer Waldron

Update on Graduate Council—Jennifer
Waldron

The Future of Graduate Education at UNI—Dr. Gloria Gibson

Discussion of Criteria for Selecting Signature Graduate Programs Summary of Task Force Report— Kimberly Knesting

Closing Comments—Dr. Sue Joseph

Reception in the Great Reading Room

Student Awards

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation

Israel Msengi, Application of Health Promotion Theoretical Approaches to Changing Recycling Behaviors and Assessing Participation Rates Augmented with GIS/GPS Among Targeted Populations. Dr. Catherine Zeman, Health, Physical Education and Leisure Services.

Outstanding Master's Thesis

First Place: Gleidson Gouveia, Captivating Emotions: Sentiment and the Work of Rhetorical Drag in Colonial and Early National Captivity Narrative. Dr. Anne Myles, English Language and Literature.

Second Place: Alexander Savelyev, Surface Temperature Mapping of the University of Northern Iowa Campus Using High Resolution Thermal Infrared Aerial Imagery. Dr. Ramanathan Sugumaran, Geography.

Third Place: Taylor Wadian, *A Test of TMT: Mortality Salience and Avoidance of Worldview Threats.* Dr. Helen Harton, Psychology.

Outstanding Master's Research Paper

First Place: Todd Waite, *Romeo and Mercutio in Baz Luhrmann's Post-modern Verona.* Dr. Jesse Swan, English Language and Literature.

Second Place: Duong Trong Hue, Advocacy NGOs: Communication Strategies in Social Campaigning and Resource Mobilization. Dr. Victoria DeFrancisco, Communication Studies.

Third Place: Parker Emerson Stuart, *Intelligent Design: The Scientific, Cultural and Educational Effects.*Dr. Robert Seager, Biology.

Outstanding Creative Master's Thesis

Rachel MacFarland, *Cigarettes and Anklebones and Other Stories*. Dr. Grant Tracey, English Language and Literature