University of Northern Iowa

UNI ScholarWorks

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards **Ceremony Programs**

Graduate Faculty

4-24-2009

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting [Program], April 24, 2009

University of Northern Iowa. Graduate College.

Let us know how access to this document benefits you

Copyright ©2009 University of Northern Iowa

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholarworks.uni.edu/gradfacprograms



Part of the Higher Education Commons

Recommended Citation

University of Northern Iowa. Graduate College., "Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting [Program], April 24, 2009" (2009). Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards Ceremony Programs. 2. https://scholarworks.uni.edu/gradfacprograms/2

This Program is brought to you for free and open access by the Graduate Faculty at UNI ScholarWorks. It has been accepted for inclusion in Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting & Awards Ceremony Programs by an authorized administrator of UNI ScholarWorks. For more information, please contact scholarworks@uni.edu.

Offensive Materials Statement: Materials located in UNI ScholarWorks come from a broad range of sources and time periods. Some of these materials may contain offensive stereotypes, ideas, visuals, or language.

Annual Graduate Faculty Meeting



Friday, April 24, 2009 3:00 p.m. Seerley 115

Agenda

Welcome—Dr. Jennifer Waldron, Chair of Graduate Council

Comments on Graduate Education at UNI—
Dr. Gloria Gibson, incoming Executive Vice
President & Provost

New Business - Discussion of proposed changes to Graduate Faculty Constitution and vote

Milestone Award Presentation—Dr.

Maureen Clayton, Graduate Faculty Chair

Faculty & Student Awards—Dr. Jim Lubker, Interim Provost & Dr. Michael Licari, Interim Associate Dean

Wine & hors d'oeuvres will be served in Great Reading Room immediately following the meeting.



Todd Bohnenkamp, Communication Science & Disorders

April Chatham-Carpenter, Communication Studies

Leroy Christ, Accounting

Mary Christ, Accounting

Susan Etscheidt, Special Education

Lynn Nielsen, Curriculum & Instruction

Donna Raschke, Special Education

Brian Roberts, History

Ramanathan Sugumaran, Geography

Outstanding Graduate Faculty Teaching Award

Professor Roy Behrens, Art, CHFA

UNI Distinguished Scholar

Dr. Marybeth Stalp, Sociology, Anthropology & Criminology, CSBS

Outstanding Doctoral Dissertation

Faruk Yildiz, Low Power Energy
Harvesting and Storage Techniques from Ambient Human Powered Energy Sources. Dr.
Mohammed Fahmy, Professor, Industrial
Education, Chair Dissertation Committee.

Outstanding Master's Research Paper Award

Eric Crandall, Self-Determination
Theory and Applications to Physical Education
and Coaching. Dr. Jennifer Waldron, Assistant Professor, HPELS, Paper Advisor.

Outstanding Master's Thesis

First Place: Sergei Golitsinski, Significance of the General Public for Public Relations: A Study of the Blogosphere's Impact on the October 2006 Edelman/Wal-Mart Crisis. Dr. Dean Kruckeberg, Professor (past), Communication Studies, Chair Thesis Committee.

Second Place: Heather DeWaard, Exploring the Relationship between Parent Beliefs and Athletes' Perceptions: A Sport Commitment Approach. Dr. Windee Weiss, Assistant Professor, HPELS, Chair Thesis Committee.

Third Place: Melinda Bullock, The Effects of Facial Attractiveness, Weight, and Immedicacy on Social Influence: A Test of Dynamic Social Impact. Dr. Helen Harton, Professor, Psychology, Chair Thesis Committee.



Outstanding Graduate Faculty Award
Selection Committee
Fred Behroozi, Physics
Deborah Gallagher, Special Education
Dave May, Geography
David Rachor, Music
Sarah Sorenson, Management

Distinguished Scholar Award Selection Committee
Kenneth Atkinson, Philosophy & Religion
Susan Etscheidt, Special Education
Atul Mitra, Management
Marybeth Stalp, Sociology, Anthropology &
Criminology
Carl Thurman, Biology

Outstanding Student Awards Selection Committee
Susan Etscheidt, Special Education
Todd Evans, Health, Physical Education &
Leisure Services
Deborah Gallagher, Special Education
Joyce Milambiling, English Language & Literature
Kurt Pontasch, Biology
Recayi Pecen, Industrial Technology
Tim Strauss, Geography
Ramanathan Sugumaran, Geography
Deborah Tidwell, Curriculum & Instruction